Author Topic: Error code 27  (Read 561 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Quick1unc   us

    • Z900 Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline Quick1unc

    • Z900 Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Country: us
    • Town / City: Tucumcari
    Error code 27
    on: Aug 05, 2022, 01.52 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 01.52 pm
    Hey guys,

    Hoping to get some help on this one. I installed new tires a few weeks ago and every since then Iíve had error code 27 which is front KTRC sensor. Iíve read numerous posts on resetting it but none have worked. Iíve ordered multiple code scanners and adapter cables but none have been able to communicate with the bike.


    I have a Ď21 z900. Does anyone have any ideas on getting this code reset. Tried unplugging battery, touching both leads together to drain residual energy. Tried riding for at least 10 mins at a speed greater than 45mph, nothing has worked. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

  • Offline MaverickAus   au

    • Z900 Pro  ‐    466
    • ***
      #1

    Offline MaverickAus

    • Z900 Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 466
    • Country: au
    • Bike: 2021 Z900
    • Town / City: Coffs Harbour

  • Offline BartZ   gb

    • Z900 Pro  ‐    238
    • ***
      #2

    Offline BartZ

    • Z900 Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 238
    • Country: gb
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #2 on: Aug 05, 2022, 02.28 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 02.28 pm
    What cables, code readers are you using. I was able to read and scan my bike with the basic ones.

  • Offline Quick1unc   us

    • Z900 Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline Quick1unc

    • Z900 Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Country: us
    • Town / City: Tucumcari
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #3 on: Aug 05, 2022, 02.29 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 02.29 pm
    Thanks, Iíll look at everything again. Iíve checked the cables and havenít seen anything out of places. They are attacked to the caliper assembly, so the whole assembly was removed on both wheels for tire change, but nothing was touched as far the sensors go.

    Not sure how the clearance for the sensor would change since they are just screwed into the caliper assembly, doesnít seem to be any adjustment at all, at least on this newer bike.

  • Offline Quick1unc   us

    • Z900 Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline Quick1unc

    • Z900 Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Country: us
    • Town / City: Tucumcari
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #4 on: Aug 05, 2022, 02.31 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 02.31 pm
    *Originally Posted by BartZ [+]
    What cables, code readers are you using. I was able to read and scan my bike with the basic ones.

    Iíve tried a variety of scammers so far. 3 different ones to be exact. From a super cheap to a few $60-75 ones. I also tried to different 6 pain Kawasaki adapter cables, but none have been able to communicate with the bike. I also find it odd that I get power to the scanners without turning the key on. Donít know if thatís how it is on bikes as this is my first one, but was always under the impression the key needed to be on like a car.

  • Offline BartZ   gb

    • Z900 Pro  ‐    238
    • ***
      #5

    Offline BartZ

    • Z900 Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 238
    • Country: gb
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #5 on: Aug 05, 2022, 02.35 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 02.35 pm
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/174212009193?mkcid=16&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-127632-2357-0&ssspo=lPiB7_RqTbu&sssrc=2349624&ssuid=a51urWBhQqm&var=&widget_ver=artemis&media=SMS

    That's the cable I use, do you have similar one and also are you plugging it to the right port? There are two similar ones

  • Offline Quick1unc   us

    • Z900 Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Offline Quick1unc

    • Z900 Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Country: us
    • Town / City: Tucumcari
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #6 on: Aug 05, 2022, 03.30 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 03.30 pm
    I tried that exact same one that said 2017+ but it wouldnít work on my Ď21. There are 2 plugs together; a red one which is something different and the one with a white plastic cover that I connected to just fine, but no comms. I ordered a different cable off Amazon for Kawasakiís but no luck there either.

  • Offline BartZ   gb

    • Z900 Pro  ‐    238
    • ***
      #7

    Offline BartZ

    • Z900 Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 238
    • Country: gb
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #7 on: Aug 05, 2022, 03.47 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 03.47 pm
    Ok, the cable should be ok for 21 version too. Are you using WiFi obd reader? What app you using to try to connect?

  • Offline Quick1unc   us

    • Z900 Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #8

    Offline Quick1unc

    • Z900 Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Country: us
    • Town / City: Tucumcari
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #8 on: Aug 05, 2022, 04.43 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 04.43 pm
    *Originally Posted by BartZ [+]
    Ok, the cable should be ok for 21 version too. Are you using WiFi obd reader? What app you using to try to connect?

    No not using a WiFi one, tried 3 different obdII readers with no luck. I saw some where that said it needed to support ktm 2000 or something like that so I made sure this last one supported all formats. I donít know if having the ecu flashed is interfering with being able to communicate with it or what.

  • Offline BartZ   gb

    • Z900 Pro  ‐    238
    • ***
      #9

    Offline BartZ

    • Z900 Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 238
    • Country: gb
    Re: Error code 27
    Reply #9 on: Aug 05, 2022, 04.58 pm
    Aug 05, 2022, 04.58 pm
    My ECU is flashed and I have no issues with connection. Well that's weird, can't really advise more, looks like you tried everything.

    Is there anyone on forum that tried to connect to 21+ models?